The Overwatch League has announced registration for Overwatch Open Division, along with news on the Contenders League. For those who seek an organized competitive ecosystem for the new year- here we are to break it down for you.

Image result for overwatch contenders

Overwatch Open Division is Now Open!

The Overwatch Open Division is the first step on the Path to Pro. Players can compete in any of the seven existing regions same as Contenders: Australia, China, Europe, Korea, North America, the Pacific, and South America. The Open Division will be held for four weeks starting in January 2018. This will give the top teams a chance to land a spot in Overwatch Contenders Trials.

  • The signups are now live at the Overwatch Open Division hub
  • Play starts in January.
  • No rank restrictions.
  • Six week, Swiss-format season.
  • Top teams will be invited to Contenders Trials.

Image result for overwatch contenders

Overwatch League Academy Teams!

Overwatch League teams will host up-and-coming talent by having Overwatch League Academy Teams along with invitees from 2017’s regional tournaments field a Contenders roster in the region of their choice. The teams that will establish Academy Teams include:

  • Contenders North America: Boston Uprising, Florida Mayhem, Houston Outlaws, Los Angeles Gladiators, NYXL, Philadelphia Fusion, San Francisco Shock.
  • Contenders China: Shanghai Dragons
  • Contenders Europe: London Spitfire

2018 Overwatch Contenders Season 1 Invitations

Top teams from APEX, Premier Series, the Pacific Championship, and initial seasons of Contenders North America and Europe also have been invited to their region’s Contenders, based on final 2017 standings. The invites include:

Contenders China

  1. 1246
  2. Legend Young Blood
  3. LGD Gaming
  4. LinGan Esports
  5. Lucky Future
  6. Miracle Team 1
  7. Miraculous Youngster
  8. Vici Gaming

Contenders Europe

  1. 123
  2. Bazooka Puppiez
  3. eUnited
  4. GamersOrigin
  5. Singularity
  6. Team Gigantti

Contenders Korea

  1. BlossoM (formerly GC Busan)
  2. Kongdoo Panthera
  3. Lunatic-Hai
  4. Foxes (formerly NC Foxes)
  5. Runaway
  6. WGS Red (formerly LW RED)
  7. X-6 Gaming
  8. Conbox

Additionally, Element Mystic, MiG (formerly Afreeca Freecs), Meta Athena, Meta Bellum, MVP Space, and Seven are invited to Korea’s first Contenders Trials.

Contenders North America

  1. Envision
  2. Faze Clan
  4. Rogue

Additionally, Kungarna and the Detroit Renegades are invited to North America’s first Contenders Trials.

Contenders Pacific

  1. ahq e-Sports Club
  2. Ardeont
  3. Blank Esports
  4. Flash Wolves
  5. Hong Kong Attitude
  6. Libalent Supreme
  7. Machi Esports
  8. MEGA Esports

These teams will have until January 9 to accept. For Contenders Australia and South America, the top eight teams from Open Division will be invited. Teams placed 9th–16th will compete in Contenders Trials for the remaining four Contenders slots.

Get your teams and heroes ready for a chance to become pro!